A big, juicy Steak Sandwich!

There are sandwiches….then there are sandwiches. THEN there are SANDWICHES. This is the latter. I find it ironic that I call this a sandwich because it is about as far as you can get from the ham, lettuce and tomato sandwich that I slapped together to munch on as I was setting up to photograph these Steak Sandwiches. (And yes, I totally see how ridiculous it must seem that I’m munching on a basic sandwich when I have these in front of me but I was hungry, couldn’t wait until I finished shooting, and the last time I rushed photos because I was so starving, I wasn’t happy with them so I had to remake and rephotograph it. #FirstWorldProblems #LifeAsAFoodBlogger)

Other than how irresistibly delicious Steak Sandwiches are in general, one reason I’m excited to be bringing this recipe to you is to share the cut of beef I used for this. It’s a great value secondary beef cut called Bavette that’s part of the flank and skirt steak family. It’s also known as flap meat, flap steak, sirloin flap steak and sirloin tip.  Having tried it several times over the summer, I am now convinced that the reason why it’s not widely available in Australia is because butchers are squirrelling it away for themselves. It’s that good. Really. The first time I tried it, I was blown away. It is like flank and skirt steak but better. It’s more tender and it’s a thicker cut. It has more of a beefy flavour than most more pricey steaks, and is best cooked hard and fast. And you must must MUST cut it across the grain. Do that, and this is what you get: slices of beef that are so tender with an almost delicate texture. Literally, each slice is almost “fall apart” tender.

I got the Bavette Steaks from Harris Farms – it’s part of their Curious Cuts range. I was curious. I tried. I loved! I definitely prefer making Steak Sandwiches using a thick piece of beef which is then sliced and piled high onto the sandwiches. But you could also use thin (or thick!) “quick sear” cuts of beef which is usually sold as “minute steaks” here in Australia. Thin and lean, so even if you use a smoking hot BBQ or skillet, it will be cooked through. Keep it to 30 seconds on each side, and it will still be very tender. Over 1 1/2 minutes, and it will be pretty dry. (Sorry everyone, just sharing my opinion here. I know many people are a fan of these minute steaks).

You can make a basic Steak Sandwich with steak, lettuce, tomato, mayonnaise and mustard. Or you could get super fancy and make a really gourmet one. The possibilities are endless! My Steak Sandwich lies in between. 🙂 I know I’ve made it a bit fancy by adding caramelised onions….but gosh, seriously, it is worth every minute of time (and the very little effort) because it really takes a humble Steak Sandwich up to that next level. Caramelised Onions are like a magic secret ingredient because it’s so cheap to make and can transform the most humble of things into something that tastes so gourmet!

When was the last time you made a Steak Sandwich? I don’t make it as often as I should. So why not grab a beer, put on the music, sear a steak and make yourself a Steak Sandwich tonight?? (OK, you might not have everything you need to make it, so pencil it in for tomorrow 😎) – Nagi x

More Burgers, Sliders and Sandwiches

Big, juicy Hamburgers Chicken Burger – juicy seasoned chicken breast steak with the lot! Nando’s Peri Peri Chicken Burger – chicken marinated in a homemade flavour bomb Peri Peri sauce BBQ Pulled Pork Sliders Cubanos – The famous Cuban roast pork sandwich from The Chef movie Pastrami Sandwiches – Rye bread piled high with homemade pastrami. EPIC! Veggie Burger – Meatless made amazing. Puts those doughy bricks at the shops to shame! Browse all Burgers and Sandwiches & Sliders recipes

LIFE OF DOZER

Just gazing out over his playground……. wondering if he should dash out over there or bound into the water over there or go fishing over there (yes, he really fishes photo coming soon).

SaveSave SaveSave

Steak Sandwich - 45Steak Sandwich - 79Steak Sandwich - 22Steak Sandwich - 15Steak Sandwich - 65Steak Sandwich - 57Steak Sandwich - 57Steak Sandwich - 68Steak Sandwich - 26